The DENR Environmental Laboratory Recognition (ELR) Scheme was institutionalized through the DENR Administrative Order No. 63 series of 1998, otherwise known as the Guidelines for the Designation of DENR-Recognized Environmental Laboratories. This Administrative Order was created to:

  • complement DENR analytical facilities for environmental characterization and monitoring, environmental impact assessment (EIA), pollution control and management, and research and development;
  • involve the private sector in environmental analytical services;
  • harmonize laboratory analytical procedures and techniques; and
  • promote the use of Quality Assurance/ Quality Control (QA/QC) practices in environmental measurements.

The EMB, through the Environmental Laboratory Services Section (ELSS) of the Research and Development Division (RDD), now the Environmental Research and Laboratory Services Division (ERLSD), serves as the Secretariat for the implementation of this Order. The DENR Environmental Laboratory Recognition (ELR) Scheme involves five levels:

  • Level 1: Application
  • Level 2: Laboratory Inspection and Assessment
  • Level 3: Proficiency Testing
  • Level 4: Consolidation and Review of Data and Information
  • Level 5: Issuance of the Certificate of Recognition

(link to OPMS)

(link to ELR Guide)

(link to ELR form 1)

(link to ELR Form 8)

(link to DAO 98-63)

(link to MC 2014-007)

(link to MC 2016-012)