The National Capital Region (NCR) or Metropolitan Manila is the Republic of the Philippines’ premier urban area. It is the center of the country’s political, economic and educational setting. The Metropolis is divided into four (4) districts with four (4) cities as its centers: First District – Manila; Second District – Quezon City, Pasig City, Marikina City, Mandaluyong City and San Juan; Third District – Caloocan City, Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela City; and Fourth District – Pasay City, Makati City, Parañaque City, Muntinlupa City, Las Piñas City, Pateros and Taguig.

The sixteen (16) cities and one (1) municipality is located along the flat alluvial and deltaic lands around the mouth of Pasig River and extends to the higher rugged lands surrounding Marikina Valley in the East. It is bounded by Manila Bay in the West, the Sierra Mountains in the East, the fertile plains of Central Luzon in the North, and Laguna Bay in the South. Its principal river, Pasig, extends from Laguna Lake in the East to Manila Bay in the West, virtually bisecting the area horizontally.

Total Land Area of the NCR: 636 square kilometers

Socio-Economic Profile

NCR is characterized by the concentration of economic, social and political activities as evidenced by the presence of 90 out of 100 biggest corporations in the country. About 90% of the internal revenue collection for the entire country is taken from the area and almost 80% of the national imports enter through its harbors. The various types of industries operating in Metro Manila are food manufacturing, lumber and wood products, stone, clay and glass products, electrical and electronic products, metals, chemical allied products, aggregate products, apparel and textile products, petroleum, gasoline stations, plastic manufacturing, animal feeds, fabricated metals, tobacco, cigar and cigarette manufacturing, printing and publishing, transport services, miscellaneous products, construction, rubber products, commercial centers, dyeing and laundry services, condominiums and hotels, cordage, cosmetic, soap and detergent, pharmaceutical, power plants, hospitals, memorial parks, piggery and poultry manufacturing, pulp and paper.



Metro Manila is one of the largest in the Asia Pacific Region and projected to be a Megapolis in the year 2004. It is the 18 th largest Metropolitan area in the world. Its estimated population of 11,553,427 accounts from 13% of the national population and about one third of the total urban population.

Metro Manila is predominantly Catholic, being a bastion of Catholicism as early as the Spanish times. However, churches or chapels of other religious denominations like the Iglesia ni Kristo, numerous Protestants groups, as well as Muslim mosques can also be seen all over the Metropolis.

In pursuance of the DENR mandate of sustainable development and the protection and enhancement of the environment and natural resources, EMB-NCR vigorously works for the protection and prudent management of the Metropolitan natural environment most specifically on air and water.

During the period (CY 2000), EMB-NCR still operated as one of the sectors under the DENR-NCR. It was only during the last quarter of the year where EMB-NCR as a line Bureau was implemented. In addition to the existing two divisions of EMB (Environmental Quality Division and Environmental Impact Assessment Division), the Administrative and Finance Division was created to complete the organizational force of EMB-NCR.

At present, EMB-NCR is complemented with 106 regular employees, 4 casuals, and 19 object 29 contractuals to carry out the aims and objectives of the Bureau and to implement effectively the different projects/activities of the DENR.

[Year 2009 - EMB NCR]


Basic Information >>






Copyright 2009. Environmental Management Bureau - NCR. All rights reserved.